UKVoIPTalk.com

UKVoIPTalk.com

The UK's Number One VoIP Resource

 

voicestick -- too good to be true??

This is a discussion on voicestick -- too good to be true?? within the uk.telecom.voip forums, part of the Newsgroup Forums category; I just came across this service and I must be missing something... they'll give you a free LOCAL pstn ...


Go Back   UKVoIPTalk.com > Newsgroup Forums > uk.telecom.voip

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply

 

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2006, 05:58
benn686@hotmail.com
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default voicestick -- too good to be true??

I just came across this service and I must be missing something...

they'll give you a free LOCAL pstn number, that anyone using a regular
PSTN phone can you from, and it will ring on your voicestick SIP
equipment, all for free!

They do have some paid services such as call forwarding, which Im
guessing means if the voicestick SIP equipment you are trying to reach,
doesnt answer or isnt on, it will automatically route it to a PSTN
phone.

Anyone have any experience with them?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2006, 08:56
PhilT
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: voicestick -- too good to be true??


[email]benn686@hotmail.com[/email] wrote:[color=blue]
> I just came across this service and I must be missing something...[/color]

that statement and the hotmail address suggest to me you are probably a
spammer trying to promote some service. As you failed to provide a URL
you must be new to this.

Have a nice day.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2006, 11:08
Graham
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: voicestick -- too good to be true??

[color=blue]
> that statement and the hotmail address suggest to me you are probably a
> spammer trying to promote some service.[/color]

I thought that at first, but looking at his previous posts, I don't there is
any malicious intent.

The OP might also look at [url]http://www.sipgate.co.uk/[/url] and
[url]http://www.orbtalk.co.uk/[/url]
who also give free incomming geographic numbers.
--

Graham.
%Profound_observation%


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2006, 11:29
Graham
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: voicestick -- too good to be true??

> that statement and the hotmail address suggest to me you are probably a[color=blue]
> spammer trying to promote some service.[/color]

I thought that at first, but looking at his previous posts, I don't there is
any malicious intent.

The OP might also look at [url]http://www.sipgate.co.uk/[/url] and
[url]http://www.orbtalk.co.uk/[/url]
who also give free incomming geographic numbers.

Sorry if this appears twice, trouble with newsserver.
--

Graham.
%Profound_observation%



Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2006, 14:50
Ivor Jones
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: voicestick -- too good to be true??



"Graham" <me@privacy.com> wrote in message
news:45053a80_3@x-privat.org[color=blue][color=green]
> > that statement and the hotmail address suggest to me
> > you are probably a spammer trying to promote some
> > service.[/color]
>
> I thought that at first, but looking at his previous
> posts, I don't there is any malicious intent.
>
> The OP might also look at [url]http://www.sipgate.co.uk/[/url] and
> [url]http://www.orbtalk.co.uk/[/url]
> who also give free incomming geographic numbers.
>
> Sorry if this appears twice, trouble with newsserver.[/color]

IME when anyone starts a post with the words "I just came across this
service" it's almost always a spammer or an affiliate link.

Ivor


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2006, 19:42
Jono
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: voicestick -- too good to be true??

It happens that Ivor Jones formulated :[color=blue]
>
> "Graham" <me@privacy.com> wrote in message
> news:45053a80_3@x-privat.org[color=green][color=darkred]
>> > that statement and the hotmail address suggest to me
>> > you are probably a spammer trying to promote some
>> > service.[/color]
>>
>> I thought that at first, but looking at his previous
>> posts, I don't there is any malicious intent.
>>
>> The OP might also look at [url]http://www.sipgate.co.uk/[/url] and
>> [url]http://www.orbtalk.co.uk/[/url]
>> who also give free incomming geographic numbers.
>>
>> Sorry if this appears twice, trouble with newsserver.[/color]
>
> IME when anyone starts a post with the words "I just came across this
> service" it's almost always a spammer or an affiliate link.
>
> Ivor[/color]

.....but without a link...?

Anyway, assuming the OP had good intentions, and to add to Graham's
comments, the OP could look at <http://www.voiptalk.org/reallyvoip> or
<https://www.voiptalk.org/products/really_useful_signup.php> - free geo
number and, at least when I signed up, a £2 call credit included.


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2006, 01:56
Ivor Jones
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: voicestick -- too good to be true??

"Jono" <nothanks@blueyonder.invalid> wrote in message
news:mn.5c9e7d699f395794.48968@blueyonder.invalid[color=blue]
> It happens that Ivor Jones formulated :[/color]

[snip]
[color=blue][color=green]
> > IME when anyone starts a post with the words "I just
> > came across this service" it's almost always a spammer
> > or an affiliate link.[/color]
>
> ....but without a link...?[/color]

I did say spammer *or* affiliate link..! Wake up at the back <g>

Ivor


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2006, 17:59
News Reader
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: voicestick -- too good to be true??


"Ivor Jones" <ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote in message
news:4ml7u7F6i5rrU1@individual.net...[color=blue]
>
>
> "Graham" <me@privacy.com> wrote in message
> news:45053a80_3@x-privat.org[color=green][color=darkred]
> > > that statement and the hotmail address suggest to me
> > > you are probably a spammer trying to promote some
> > > service.[/color]
> >
> > I thought that at first, but looking at his previous
> > posts, I don't there is any malicious intent.
> >
> > The OP might also look at [url]http://www.sipgate.co.uk/[/url] and
> > [url]http://www.orbtalk.co.uk/[/url]
> > who also give free incomming geographic numbers.
> >
> > Sorry if this appears twice, trouble with newsserver.[/color]
>
> IME when anyone starts a post with the words "I just came across this
> service" it's almost always a spammer or an affiliate link.
>
> Ivor
>
>[/color]


Hi,

And when you come across a service or site you would like to let others know
about / that you think others would find useful or might be interested in or
appreciate being informed about... how do you start such a post?

I understand what you are saying Ivor and often you would be right in your
thoughts about such posts - but that doesn't make them all suspicious /
illegitimate.


Best wishes,



News Reader



Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2006, 19:14
Ivor Jones
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: voicestick -- too good to be true??

"News Reader" <invalid@invalid.invalid> wrote in message
news:ee6p14$fd6$1@inews.gazeta.pl

[snip]
[color=blue]
> And when you come across a service or site you would like
> to let others know about / that you think others would
> find useful or might be interested in or appreciate being
> informed about... how do you start such a post?[/color]

Think whether you really need to. If someone *asks* what would be a good
service/system or whatever, then by all means reply, but I don't see that
there is a need to post just to say "I think this is brilliant" - even if
you think it's helping people, it could be regarded as
advertising/spamming, rightly or wrongly.

That's not to say that there are never times when something is worth
shouting from the rooftops about, but IMHO it's rare.
[color=blue]
> I understand what you are saying Ivor and often you would
> be right in your thoughts about such posts - but that
> doesn't make them all suspicious / illegitimate.[/color]

True, but unfortunately the legitimate ones have been tarred with the
wrong brush.

Ivor


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2006, 21:58
M.Dexter@blueyonder.co.uk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: voicestick -- too good to be true??

On Tue, 12 Sep 2006 19:14:39 +0100, "Ivor Jones"
<ivor@despammed.invalid> wrote:
[color=blue]
>Think whether you really need to. If someone *asks* what would be a good
>service/system or whatever, then by all means reply, but I don't see that
>there is a need to post just to say "I think this is brilliant" - even if
>you think it's helping people, it could be regarded as
>advertising/spamming, rightly or wrongly.[/color]
And of course the grand Ayatollah Ivor WOULD immediately think it was
spam seeing that he has a fettish about spam and spammers .

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is Off
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0