UKVoIPTalk.com

UKVoIPTalk.com

The UK's Number One VoIP Resource

 

Vonage / Draytel

This is a discussion on Vonage / Draytel within the uk.telecom.voip forums, part of the Newsgroup Forums category; On Fri, 08 Sep 2006 11:43:43 GMT, Carl Waring wrote: [color=blue] >Secondly, I don't quite ...


Go Back   UKVoIPTalk.com > Newsgroup Forums > uk.telecom.voip

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply

 

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2006, 17:56
Al
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vonage / Draytel

On Fri, 08 Sep 2006 11:43:43 GMT, Carl Waring wrote:
[color=blue]
>Secondly, I don't quite understand your so-called "allowable construct" ? Do
>you mean something like "blueyonder.invalid.co.uk"?[/color]

That's not the way it is permitted. You need to se the ".invalid" at
the end. This is the official permitted way to stop spammers. So you
could use eg:

[email]calrl@blueyonder.inva[/email]lid
[color=blue]
>If so, then I'm sure
>that any respectable spammer might look for and remove stuff like the word
>"invalid" in the same way as the earlier-mentioned "removethis".[/color]

Not at al. Look at the permitted way of ending your domain with
".invalid". I repeat it is AT THE END of the domain name only.
[color=blue]
>I think I'll stick with what I have thanks. It's worked so far :-)[/color]

Stop being a clown. If you want to do things, do them properly. Read
Usenet RFC 2606 and you'll see the correct and permitted way of
munging your email address. This should be done without passing on the
problem on to whoever's domain you are currently illegally using (or
who might register it in future).
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2006, 18:30
Brian
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vonage / Draytel

On 2006-09-08, Jono <nothanks@blueyonder.invalid> wrote:
[color=blue]
> Brian was thinking very hard :[/color]

Too true. It can be debilitating at times.
[color=blue]
>[color=green]
>>
>> 10 minutes ago the telephone number 02070997992 was unallocated to
>> anyone. Does that mean it is free for me to use?[/color]
>
> It would be pointless, though as no-one could actually guess the
> correct number to reach you on.[/color]

I should have been more detailed. The number will be used when filling
out forms on websites, questionaires and surveys and in any transaction
with double-glazing salespeople. In fact, any time I don't want to be
contacted I'll give out that number. Now what could happen when the
number is put into use?

The primary aim of using the redyonder domain is to avoid receiving
spam. A secondary aim is to give a rather lame hint as to the correct
domain in order to receive mail. The benefit is truly in one direction
only. My phone number example was constructed to illustrate that.

Brian.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2006, 18:48
Jono
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vonage / Draytel

Brian wrote :[color=blue]
> On 2006-09-08, Jono <nothanks@blueyonder.invalid> wrote:
>[color=green]
>> Brian was thinking very hard :[/color]
>
> Too true. It can be debilitating at times.
>[color=green]
>>[color=darkred]
>>>
>>> 10 minutes ago the telephone number 02070997992 was unallocated to
>>> anyone. Does that mean it is free for me to use?[/color]
>>
>> It would be pointless, though as no-one could actually guess the
>> correct number to reach you on.[/color]
>
> I should have been more detailed. The number will be used when filling
> out forms on websites, questionaires and surveys and in any transaction
> with double-glazing salespeople. In fact, any time I don't want to be
> contacted I'll give out that number. Now what could happen when the
> number is put into use?
>
> The primary aim of using the redyonder domain is to avoid receiving
> spam. A secondary aim is to give a rather lame hint as to the correct
> domain in order to receive mail. The benefit is truly in one direction
> only. My phone number example was constructed to illustrate that.
>
> Brian.[/color]

Yes, sorry, I understood all that - was being obtuse.


Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2006, 20:16
Carl Waring
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vonage / Draytel

Jono wrote:[color=blue]
> Ivor Jones expressed precisely :[color=green]
>> "Carl Waring" <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote in
>> message
>> news:HEeMg.15786$r61.12868@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk[color=darkred]
>>> Ivor Jones wrote:[/color]
>>
>> [snip]
>>[color=darkred]
>>>> There is a specific top level domain reserved for the
>>>> purposes of spam trapping - invalid - try it.
>>>>
>>>> Ivor
>>>
>>> That being the case, I certainly *won't* be using it. If
>>> spammers know about it, it's a fair bet they can easily
>>> circumvent it :-)[/color]
>>
>> No, because DNS servers have no way of routing to it.[/color]
>
> I think his point is, if you use .invald, what's to stop a spammer
> rewriting all its havested .invalid addresses as .co.uk &/or .com.
>
> The whole point of his REDyonder address is that a person could make a
> judgement & figure out that it's BLUE not RED.[/color]

Phew! We got there in the end!

--
Carl Waring
DigiGuide: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=1495[/url]
DGLite: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=4&r=1495[/url] - FREE!!!


Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2006, 01:39
Ivor Jones
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vonage / Draytel



"Jono" <nothanks@blueyonder.invalid> wrote in message
news:mn.43f67d69bfe67484.48968@blueyonder.invalid[color=blue]
> Ivor Jones expressed precisely :[color=green]
> > "Carl Waring" <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote in
> > message
> > news:HEeMg.15786$r61.12868@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk[color=darkred]
> > > Ivor Jones wrote:[/color]
> >
> > [snip]
> >[color=darkred]
> > > > There is a specific top level domain reserved for
> > > > the purposes of spam trapping - invalid - try it.
> > > >
> > > > Ivor
> > >
> > > That being the case, I certainly *won't* be using it.
> > > If spammers know about it, it's a fair bet they can
> > > easily circumvent it :-)[/color]
> >
> > No, because DNS servers have no way of routing to it.[/color]
>
> I think his point is, if you use .invald, what's to stop
> a spammer rewriting all its havested .invalid addresses
> as .co.uk &/or .com.[/color]

Absolutely nothing, but you can use what you like before .invalid as well.
[color=blue]
> The whole point of his REDyonder address is that a person
> could make a judgement & figure out that it's BLUE not
> RED.[/color]

True, but it is still a usable address, however unlikely, and really
shouldn't be used for this purpose.

Ivor


Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2006, 09:34
Steve in Herts
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vonage / Draytel

On Thu, 07 Sep 2006 13:54:28 GMT, "Carl Waring"
<carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote:
[color=blue]
>I have been looking at Vonage ([url]www.vonage.co.uk[/url]) but have just found another
>company called Draytel ([url]www.draytel.org[/url]) who do PAYG with no up-front fees.
>Anyone here with them at the moment care to comment?
>
>I know there are a load of VoIP providers out there but if I'm going to use
>one I'd prefer to use one that doesn't tie me to my PC!
>
>Thanks.[/color]

Have you considred voip.co.uk? Although I had some early teething
problems which was my fault as my ATA was faulty, now they have been
sorted out I have been delighted with the service so far.

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is Off
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0