The UK's Number One VoIP Resource
This is a discussion on Vonage / Draytel within the uk.telecom.voip forums, part of the Newsgroup Forums category; On Fri, 08 Sep 2006 11:43:43 GMT, Carl Waring wrote: [color=blue] >Secondly, I don't quite ...
|
|||||||
| Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
|
|||
|
On Fri, 08 Sep 2006 11:43:43 GMT, Carl Waring wrote:
[color=blue] >Secondly, I don't quite understand your so-called "allowable construct" ? Do >you mean something like "blueyonder.invalid.co.uk"?[/color] That's not the way it is permitted. You need to se the ".invalid" at the end. This is the official permitted way to stop spammers. So you could use eg: [email]calrl@blueyonder.inva[/email]lid [color=blue] >If so, then I'm sure >that any respectable spammer might look for and remove stuff like the word >"invalid" in the same way as the earlier-mentioned "removethis".[/color] Not at al. Look at the permitted way of ending your domain with ".invalid". I repeat it is AT THE END of the domain name only. [color=blue] >I think I'll stick with what I have thanks. It's worked so far :-)[/color] Stop being a clown. If you want to do things, do them properly. Read Usenet RFC 2606 and you'll see the correct and permitted way of munging your email address. This should be done without passing on the problem on to whoever's domain you are currently illegally using (or who might register it in future). |
|
|||
|
On 2006-09-08, Jono <nothanks@blueyonder.invalid> wrote:
[color=blue] > Brian was thinking very hard :[/color] Too true. It can be debilitating at times. [color=blue] >[color=green] >> >> 10 minutes ago the telephone number 02070997992 was unallocated to >> anyone. Does that mean it is free for me to use?[/color] > > It would be pointless, though as no-one could actually guess the > correct number to reach you on.[/color] I should have been more detailed. The number will be used when filling out forms on websites, questionaires and surveys and in any transaction with double-glazing salespeople. In fact, any time I don't want to be contacted I'll give out that number. Now what could happen when the number is put into use? The primary aim of using the redyonder domain is to avoid receiving spam. A secondary aim is to give a rather lame hint as to the correct domain in order to receive mail. The benefit is truly in one direction only. My phone number example was constructed to illustrate that. Brian. |
|
|||
|
Brian wrote :[color=blue]
> On 2006-09-08, Jono <nothanks@blueyonder.invalid> wrote: >[color=green] >> Brian was thinking very hard :[/color] > > Too true. It can be debilitating at times. >[color=green] >>[color=darkred] >>> >>> 10 minutes ago the telephone number 02070997992 was unallocated to >>> anyone. Does that mean it is free for me to use?[/color] >> >> It would be pointless, though as no-one could actually guess the >> correct number to reach you on.[/color] > > I should have been more detailed. The number will be used when filling > out forms on websites, questionaires and surveys and in any transaction > with double-glazing salespeople. In fact, any time I don't want to be > contacted I'll give out that number. Now what could happen when the > number is put into use? > > The primary aim of using the redyonder domain is to avoid receiving > spam. A secondary aim is to give a rather lame hint as to the correct > domain in order to receive mail. The benefit is truly in one direction > only. My phone number example was constructed to illustrate that. > > Brian.[/color] Yes, sorry, I understood all that - was being obtuse. |
|
|||
|
Jono wrote:[color=blue]
> Ivor Jones expressed precisely :[color=green] >> "Carl Waring" <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote in >> message >> news:HEeMg.15786$r61.12868@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk[color=darkred] >>> Ivor Jones wrote:[/color] >> >> [snip] >>[color=darkred] >>>> There is a specific top level domain reserved for the >>>> purposes of spam trapping - invalid - try it. >>>> >>>> Ivor >>> >>> That being the case, I certainly *won't* be using it. If >>> spammers know about it, it's a fair bet they can easily >>> circumvent it :-)[/color] >> >> No, because DNS servers have no way of routing to it.[/color] > > I think his point is, if you use .invald, what's to stop a spammer > rewriting all its havested .invalid addresses as .co.uk &/or .com. > > The whole point of his REDyonder address is that a person could make a > judgement & figure out that it's BLUE not RED.[/color] Phew! We got there in the end! -- Carl Waring DigiGuide: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=1495[/url] DGLite: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=4&r=1495[/url] - FREE!!! |
|
|||
|
"Jono" <nothanks@blueyonder.invalid> wrote in message news:mn.43f67d69bfe67484.48968@blueyonder.invalid[color=blue] > Ivor Jones expressed precisely :[color=green] > > "Carl Waring" <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote in > > message > > news:HEeMg.15786$r61.12868@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk[color=darkred] > > > Ivor Jones wrote:[/color] > > > > [snip] > >[color=darkred] > > > > There is a specific top level domain reserved for > > > > the purposes of spam trapping - invalid - try it. > > > > > > > > Ivor > > > > > > That being the case, I certainly *won't* be using it. > > > If spammers know about it, it's a fair bet they can > > > easily circumvent it :-)[/color] > > > > No, because DNS servers have no way of routing to it.[/color] > > I think his point is, if you use .invald, what's to stop > a spammer rewriting all its havested .invalid addresses > as .co.uk &/or .com.[/color] Absolutely nothing, but you can use what you like before .invalid as well. [color=blue] > The whole point of his REDyonder address is that a person > could make a judgement & figure out that it's BLUE not > RED.[/color] True, but it is still a usable address, however unlikely, and really shouldn't be used for this purpose. Ivor |
|
|||
|
On Thu, 07 Sep 2006 13:54:28 GMT, "Carl Waring"
<carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote: [color=blue] >I have been looking at Vonage ([url]www.vonage.co.uk[/url]) but have just found another >company called Draytel ([url]www.draytel.org[/url]) who do PAYG with no up-front fees. >Anyone here with them at the moment care to comment? > >I know there are a load of VoIP providers out there but if I'm going to use >one I'd prefer to use one that doesn't tie me to my PC! > >Thanks.[/color] Have you considred voip.co.uk? Although I had some early teething problems which was my fault as my ATA was faulty, now they have been sorted out I have been delighted with the service so far. Steve |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|