The UK's Number One VoIP Resource
This is a discussion on Vonage / Draytel within the uk.telecom.voip forums, part of the Newsgroup Forums category; In article <yR%Lg.15471$r61.7183@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk>, Carl Waring <carl.waring@REDyonder....
|
|||||||
| Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
|
|||
|
In article <yR%Lg.15471$r61.7183@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk>,
Carl Waring <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote: [color=blue] >As I said, I DO NOT want to be tied to my PC. That's it! > >With both Vonage and Draytel I can use my current DECT cordless phone either >by renting (with the former) or buying (with the latter) an ATA that will >plug into my existing router; a Netgear WRG614. > >My other idea was to buy a new Router with a built-in VoIP adapter and sell >my current one on Ebay. I then don't need one off either company. > >Any clearer?[/color] Sure. So what I said earlier was valid, but it sounds like you're on a very tight budget though. You'd probably be better off sticking to your current router (it's fine), and buying an ATA than go through the hassle of buying a new router & selling your current one. Then you have the means to talk to any VoIP provider and not just Vonage (who'll sell/rent you a locked ATA) or Draytel (fine, but not the best prices as I understand it) However, ATAs are slightly more expensive than the cheap phones you can get now! (but shop around and you might find something - eg. [url]http://www.orbtalk.co.uk/content/view/25/1/[/url] £50 up front and they give you a free ATA... (I've not used these people, but their rates look reasonable...) Gordon |
|
|||
|
On 7 Sep 2006 16:04:46 -0700, [email]sibell73@hotmail.com[/email] wrote:
[color=blue] > >Carl Waring wrote:[color=green] >> I have been looking at Vonage ([url]www.vonage.co.uk[/url]) but have just found another >> company called Draytel ([url]www.draytel.org[/url]) who do PAYG with no up-front fees. >> Anyone here with them at the moment care to comment? >> >> I know there are a load of VoIP providers out there but if I'm going to use >> one I'd prefer to use one that doesn't tie me to my PC![/color] > >I have been using Draytel for quite a few months now, very happy had no >outages with service etc. Free PSTN number from any area once you put >£20 credit on. > >I use the FXS port on a Vigor Router connected to a spare trunk port on >a PBX - works great, the VigorTalk ATA is very good value but does need >the odd reboot, service would be more reliable with a decent VoIP >enabled router, ATA such as SPA-3000 or decent IP Phone. > >regards >Simon[/color] With Draytel you are paying a minimun of £20/year to remain on the silver tariff. If you were to get an unlocked ATA and go with [url]www.voip.co.uk[/url] then you'd pay the same, have free off-peak calls to UK geographicals and peak calls to UK geographicals at 2p/call. With an unlocked ATA you have a choice to move. With a locked ATA you pay to stay with one company, if you move from that company your ATA becomes a paperweight (unless you can unlock it of course). Remove 'no_spam_' from email address. |
|
|||
|
"Brian" <bandj@o2.co.uk> wrote in message
news:edq7ap$255$1$830fa17d@news.demon.co.uk...[color=blue] > sufficient information for you to make a detailed comparison but you may > want to keep in mind that Vonage's network is closed whereas Draytel's > isn't.[/color] Huh? I know what the term means, but can you put it in context for me. Thanks. -- Carl Waring DigiGuide: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=1495[/url] DGLite: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=4&r=1495[/url] - FREE!!! |
|
|||
|
[I see your're still irresponsibly using a domain in your From: header
you have no right to use.] On 2006-09-08, Carl Waring <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote: [color=blue] > "Brian" <bandj@o2.co.uk> wrote in message > news:edq7ap$255$1$830fa17d@news.demon.co.uk...[color=green] >> sufficient information for you to make a detailed comparison but you may >> want to keep in mind that Vonage's network is closed whereas Draytel's >> isn't.[/color] > > Huh? I know what the term means, but can you put it in context for me. > Thanks.[/color] You have the facility to make SIP calls to any other SIP network with Draytel. Also, you can be contacted from other networks. On Vonage you can only make SIP-to-SIP calls to other Vonage customers. Brian. |
|
|||
|
"Brian" <bandj@o2.co.uk> wrote in message news:edreba$fm2$1$830fa795@news.demon.co.uk...[color=blue] > [I see your're still irresponsibly using a domain in your From: header > you have no right to use.] > > On 2006-09-08, Carl Waring <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote:[/color] Huh? Result of WHOIS query: -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- No match for "redyonder.co.uk". This domain name has not been registered. WHOIS lookup made at 11:13:59 08-Sep-2006 |
|
|||
|
Jono wrote:[color=blue]
> "Brian" <bandj@o2.co.uk> wrote in message > news:edreba$fm2$1$830fa795@news.demon.co.uk...[color=green] >> [I see your're still irresponsibly using a domain in your From: header >> you have no right to use.] >> >> On 2006-09-08, Carl Waring <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote:[/color] > > Huh? > > Result of WHOIS query: > > -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- > > No match for "redyonder.co.uk". > > This domain name has not been registered. > > WHOIS lookup made at 11:13:59 08-Sep-2006[/color] It's called a SPAMTRAP :-) -- Carl Waring DigiGuide: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=1495[/url] DGLite: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=4&r=1495[/url] - FREE!!! |
|
|||
|
Brian wrote:[color=blue]
> [I see your're still irresponsibly using a domain in your From: header > you have no right to use.] > > On 2006-09-08, Carl Waring <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote: >[color=green] >> "Brian" <bandj@o2.co.uk> wrote in message >> news:edq7ap$255$1$830fa17d@news.demon.co.uk...[color=darkred] >>> sufficient information for you to make a detailed comparison but you may >>> want to keep in mind that Vonage's network is closed whereas Draytel's >>> isn't.[/color] >> >> Huh? I know what the term means, but can you put it in context for me. >> Thanks.[/color] > > You have the facility to make SIP calls to any other SIP network with > Draytel. Also, you can be contacted from other networks. On Vonage you > can only make SIP-to-SIP calls to other Vonage customers.[/color] Thanks, Brian. Looks like Draytel might be the one to go with. I currently use one.tel for my calls and usually spend less than a fiver a month on calls, so to pay Vonage £7.99 pm seems a little extreme, even if it does include all 01 calls. Oh, and as mentioned elsewhere, the FROM: thing's a spamtrap :-) -- Carl Waring DigiGuide: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=1495[/url] DGLite: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=4&r=1495[/url] - FREE!!! |
|
|||
|
"Carl Waring" <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote in message news:yubMg.15687$r61.1795@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk... [color=blue][color=green][color=darkred] >>> [I see your're still irresponsibly using a domain in your From: header >>> you have no right to use.] >>> >>> On 2006-09-08, Carl Waring <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote:[/color] >> >> Huh? >> >> Result of WHOIS query: >> >> -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- >> >> No match for "redyonder.co.uk". >> >> This domain name has not been registered. >> >> WHOIS lookup made at 11:13:59 08-Sep-2006[/color] > > It's called a SPAMTRAP :-)[/color] I know. I was querying Brian's objection to your use of it. I suppose, you shouldn't use a domain that may at some point be allocated as you could be storing up problems for the ultimate registrant......... |
|
|||
|
Jono wrote:[color=blue]
> "Carl Waring" <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote in message > news:yubMg.15687$r61.1795@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk... >[color=green][color=darkred] >>>> [I see your're still irresponsibly using a domain in your From: header >>>> you have no right to use.] >>>> >>>> On 2006-09-08, Carl Waring <carl.waring@REDyonder.co.uk> wrote: >>> >>> Huh? >>> >>> Result of WHOIS query: >>> >>> -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- >>> >>> No match for "redyonder.co.uk". >>> >>> This domain name has not been registered. >>> >>> WHOIS lookup made at 11:13:59 08-Sep-2006[/color] >> >> It's called a SPAMTRAP :-)[/color] > > I know. > I was querying Brian's objection to your use of it.[/color] Whoops! Sorry :-) [color=blue] > I suppose, you shouldn't use a domain that may at some point be allocated > as > you could be storing up problems for the ultimate registrant.........[/color] Possibly. However, I'm sure that "REMOVETHIS", etc. can be easily got around by now :-) -- Carl Waring DigiGuide: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=1495[/url] DGLite: [url]http://getdigiguide.com/?p=4&r=1495[/url] - FREE!!! |
|
|||
|
On Fri, 08 Sep 2006 10:34:38 GMT, Jono wrote:
[color=blue] >I suppose, you shouldn't use a domain that may at some point be allocated as >you could be storing up problems for the ultimate registrant.........[/color] Indeed, it can cause problems to the ultimate registrant when you illegally use a domain like say ...nothanksneverblueyonder.com lookup failed nothanksneverblueyonder.com Could not find an IP address for this domain name. Instead of storing up trouble for the ultimate registrant, why not use the allowable construct of: nothanksneverblueyonder.invalid ? |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|